Tourism and Recreation

  • White water rafting
  • Mountain climbing
  • Mountain biking
  • Hiking
  • Horseback riding
  • Swimming
  • Fresh water fishing
  • Hunting

Frozen Head State Park & Natural Area

Frozen Head State Park is located about 7 miles east of Wartburg — the county seat of Morgan County. It is situated in the beautiful Cumberland Mountains of East Tennessee and contains 13,122 acres of relatively undisturbed forest. Read more >>

Obed Wild & Scenic River

The Obed River and its major tributaries, Clear Creek and Daddy’s Creek, form a nearly 100-mile system of rugged water that changes complexion with the seasons.

Catoosa Wildlife Management Area

Catoosa Wildlife Management Area (CWMA) is a large game-management area located in Morgan and Cumberland Counties in Tennessee. It contains 82,000 acres of wild land administered by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency.

Lone Mountain State Forest

Lone Mountain State Forest is located a few miles south of Wartburg. The forest consists of 3,624 acres and is managed by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, Division of Forestry.

Historic Rugby

Rugby is a historic community located in the northern most part of Morgan County. On the fringe of the Big South Fork National River & Recreation Area, Rugby was founded in 1880 by English author and social reformer, Thomas Hughes. Read more >>

The Cumberland Trail State Park

The Cumberland Trail State Park is Tennessee's 53rd state park and the only state park of its kind. A Scenic Hiking Trail cutting through 11 counties that, when finished, will be 300 miles long.